Egotistic Look: Dawn for Connect Magazine

I have my days where I seriously get bummed because Im so ambitious and I have so many goals set for myself that the progress of my brand may not be quick enough for me. For some reason when I have those moments God finds a way to change that feeling by delighting me with some outside source that shows how hard I really have been working. This Monday morning was a bummer. I wasn’t my normal bubbly self. I was frustrated by the thoughts of who owe me money, the million things I have to accomplish by Saturday and what the hell Im gonna eat for breakfast lol

One of my bff’s who is in the Entourage called me at 830 this morning to wake my ass up. Im normally up by then but this morning was a real MONDAY. She hit me and said how she posted a picture of me on her bbm and how many dudes had hit her asking who I was. I wasn’t flattered I was bummed remember. She said BITCHH wake your fabulous ass up and start creating. I wasn’t in the mood. Today all I wanted to do was write a book about love and to my surprise Im on chapter 7.

The day progressed slowly and I still had no idea what I was going to eat for breakfast only because I refused to cook. So I skipped that meal and BBQued a burger at the pool. So here I am and because God knows how to cheer his children up I was delighted to find the official images of my Egotistic Chic Dawn from Dirty Money killing my chains. As this burger digest and my skin gets tanned I now present you one hellll of an Egotistic Look!!!!

Pain, pleasure, love, heartbreak, trial, and triumph are words that describe the emotions one would sense while listening to the story Dawn Richard of Diddy Dirty Money tells in her first mixtape, “The Prelude To A Tell Tale Heart.” As a New Orleans, native displaced by Hurricane Katrina, Dawn has been through a tumultuous past six years; and this mixtape serves as the story of her survival.  With her heart playing the role of narrator, the mixtape reveals everything from loss and hurt to her need for a “Champion”.  The storyline is not all struggle-filled though. Songs like “Runway” show the positive side of her journey, while “Superhero” is an offering of herself as a savior to another. All in all, the journey has not been totally bad.  If anything, it’s more of an allusion to prevail.  She went from homeless to MTV’s “Making The Band” to the chart topping female group, Danity Kane. After a successful run (and not so happy ending), the group was dismantled and Dawn joined her boss, Sean Combs and singer-songwriter Kalenna Harper to form the trio Diddy Dirty Money.

A special thanks to Olori Swank from Swank Imaging for her awesome styling. Check Olori out her fabulous work and inspirational energy at OloriSWANK.com the link is in my Egotistic Index.

2 Comments »

  1. Wow! Totally inspiring! Txs for sharing Nicole! Your talent and determination will get you very far.

  2. Dasha Brock Said:

    You have always inspired me! Keep up the hard and good work!!! I have now started doing research to see what it will take for me to pursue my dreams in the fashion world and part of that is thanks to you and Dorian unknowingly encouraging me with every picture and post you two make!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

