Fashion Exchange: EMERGE

Whoa that was one hellava time away from intriguing you with fashion! I really missed you guys and I promise the site only gets juicier!! I’m indulged in creating an even more intense site so my official website where my collection can be purchased and my viewings of my styling portfolio will also be displayed!!! Super excited!!! 2010 also marks one year of me running my mouth to you guys about fashion’s ego & of course mine 🙂

To end the separation anxiety that I was having gotta fill you in on this amazing event called “Fashion Exchange” hosted by EMERGE  where you trade designer used apparel with other leading professional women for their clothing. A genius way to create a new wardrobe with items you are ready to part with by swapping it with other ladies.Hosted by two wonderful women Tinika Brown & Erica Lee  the event was held at Senses Salon located at 138 5th Avenue (between 18th and 19th Streets)

Emerge Events LLC (Emerge) was organized to host unique and enriching events that promote self-improvement in areas of health, beauty, fashion, fitness, dating, relationships and career for professional women of color. Whether its a fashion exchange, trunk show, makeover/photo shoot, matchmaking event or a health and fitness seminar, we hope that each of our events will leave you looking and/or feeling your best – hence, the slogan “Let Your Best Self Emerge”.  Emerge also seeks to support and promote non-profit organizations that serve Black, Asian and Latina women and girls.

The personal invite for the event:

Dear Ladies,

I’d like to personally invite you to a Fashion Exchange to celebrate the launch of Emerge, an organization I founded which will host networking and informational events relating to health, fitness, beauty, fashion, dating and relationships for NYC’s women of color.

How many of us have dresses we’ve only worn once? Shoes that have never been worn? Jackets with tags on them? Let’s clean out those closets and share our great sense of style with other professional women in New York City!

There will be giveaways, hors d’oeuvres, sparkling wine, spa services and an abundance of amazing apparel and accessories that you will be taking home for FREE.

Clothing that is not exchanged will be donated to Housing Works Thrift Shops operated for the benefit of Housing Works Inc., the nation’s largest minority-controlled AIDS service organization.

I hope to see you there!

Regards,

Tinika Brown

Founder

Emerge Events LLC

I participated in the swap and the women involved dropped their items off a couple days prior to the event and one day before. Early drops allowed you VIP access to the racks which entitled you to an hour of shopping the racks of other items to trade.

Manicure and other spa services were offered at the event. Must have the nails sparkling while snatching designer duds from the racks!!!

One lovely fashion exchange shopper stepped in the building in my fave fringe boots everrrr!!!!

I for sure had a great time and I ended the night full on crabcakes, champagne, and an EMERGE shopping bag full of refreshing designer goodies that I left feeling like I had a high end department store experience 🙂

1 Comment »

  1. Nadia Said:

    WOW! What an amazing and empowering event. How can I contact Emerge Events for future events and programs I may want to participate in. Please let me know!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

